Finnmark Designs Infrared Saunas

Finnmark Designs infrared saunas put two kinds of heater in one cedar room, and Finnmark warrants the Spectrum Plus elements for the life of the sauna. Evenings you actually look forward to.

0 products

No products found
Use fewer filters or remove all


Finnmark Designs

Finnmark Designs Infrared Saunas: Two Emitter Types, Heaters Warranted for Life

The indoor rooms pair carbon 360 flat panels with Finnmark's own Spectrum Plus elements, and the Spectrum Plus heaters are warranted for the life of the sauna. Cedar interiors on every model but the FD-7, which is thermally treated aspen throughout.

Pay over time with Shop Pay Installments at checkout. How financing works

Finnmark FD-2 full spectrum infrared sauna with a lit cedar interior in a bright room opening onto a garden
LifetimeSpectrum Plus heater warranty
1.17 mGHighest reading, heater running
Two emitter typesSpectrum Plus and Carbon 360
ETL ListedTo UL-875 on FD-1 to FD-4

Finnmark rates the indoor rooms to reach 170 degrees in under an hour on a household outlet. Set it going when you get in, and by the time you have changed, the cedar already smells the way a cedar box does after a day in the sun.


The Finnmark Lineup, Model by Model

Indoor rooms, outdoor barrels and a cold plunge. The split that matters is not size, it is whether a model adds a traditional stove to the infrared, because that changes both the session and what your electrician has to do.

Infrared only

FD-1

One person, 38 by 38 inches

The smallest room in the range and the easiest to power. A dedicated 120V 15 amp circuit runs it, so no 240V work, though it does want a circuit of its own rather than a shared outlet. Carbon 360 panels plus Spectrum Plus elements, cedar inside, thermally treated aspen outside.

A spare bedroom, a landing, a corner of a home gym.

Infrared only

FD-2

Two people, 48 by 44 inches

A wider bench and a second seat, on the same dedicated 120V circuit as the FD-1. Carbon 360 panels and Spectrum Plus elements, infrared only, no stove.

Two people who want to sit side by side without rewiring the house.

Infrared only

FD-3

Three to four people, 72 by 46 inches

The largest infrared only room, and the first that needs a 240V circuit. A reversible ergonomic bench, the same two emitter types, and a cabin wide enough that two people can lie down.

A family room where more than two people will use it.

Infrared and stove

FD-4 Trinity

Two people, 48 by 48 inches

Infrared plus a Harvia Vega Compact 1.9 kW stove, so you can run dry infrared or pour water over hot stones. Two circuits, not one: 15 amps for the infrared and a 20 amp line for the Harvia.

Anyone who wants both heat styles in a room that still fits indoors.

Infrared and stove

FD-5 Trinity XL

Four people, 75 by 64 inches

The Trinity idea at full size, with a Harvia KIP45B 4.5 kW stove and a 240V infrared side. Two tier benching, cedar interior, heat treated aspen shell.

A dedicated room where the sauna is the point, not the afterthought.

Outdoor barrel

FD-6

Western Red Cedar, 6 by 6

Arriving November 2026, orderable now. A two tier barrel in Western Red Cedar that takes both heat types, on shou sugi ban torched supports under a shingled roof. A traditional stove up to 6 kW is chosen separately and is not in the box.

A yard where the sauna should look like it belongs there.

Outdoor barrel

FD-7

Thermo-Aspen, 6 by 6

Arriving December 2026, orderable now. The same barrel in thermally treated aspen, inside and out. Paler, dimensionally very stable, no cedar aroma, and the less expensive of the pair. Same infrared side, same stove decision.

A yard where the budget matters more than the cedar smell.

Cold water

SoulCold

One person, 180 gallons

A stainless and cedar tub that runs cold or warm, with the chiller already in the box. It is built for sheltered use: shade or a tent outdoors, and the chiller comes inside before a freeze.

Contrast sessions in a garage, a basement or a covered patio.


The Finnmark Range Compared at a Glance

Capacity is the manufacturer figure. Where a model needs more than one circuit, both are listed, because that is the detail that decides whether an electrician is involved.

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Model Capacity Exterior Heat Electrical
FD-1 1 person 38 x 38 x 78 in Infrared only 120V, 15A, NEMA 5-15P
FD-2 2 people 48 x 44 x 78 in Infrared only 120V, 15A, NEMA 5-15P
FD-3 3 to 4 people 72 x 46 x 78 in Infrared only 240V, 15A, NEMA 6-15P
FD-4 Trinity 2 people 48 x 48 x 83 in Infrared and 1.9 kW Harvia 120V 15A infrared, plus 120V 20A stove
FD-5 Trinity XL 4 people 75 x 64 x 84 in Infrared and 4.5 kW Harvia 240V 15A infrared, plus 240V 20A stove
FD-6 Not stated 72.5 x 75 x 79 in Infrared and stove to 6 kW 120V 15A infrared, stove circuit 240V
FD-7 Not stated 72.5 x 75 x 79 in Infrared and stove to 6 kW 120V 15A infrared, stove circuit 120V or 240V
SoulCold 1 person 79.8 x 35 x 30 in Chiller and heater Supplied GFCI cord and plug

Finnmark publishes no occupancy figure for FD-6 or FD-7, so this table says so instead of estimating. Inside, both run 66 inches of floor with benches 24 inches deep on the upper tier and 16 on the lower, which is the honest way to judge how many people fit.


Three Finnmark Claims You Can Check on Paper

Each of these is written down in a document we hold, so you can ask us for it.

01

Two emitter types, named separately

Spectrum Plus elements and Carbon 360 flat panels

The spec sheets for FD-1, FD-2 and FD-3 list both, in that wording: Spectrum infrared coupled with carbon 360 flat panel heaters. Two heating technologies in the one cabin.

Both are named on the sheet, separately, so you can count the emitter types yourself.

02

The heaters are warranted for life

Lifetime on Spectrum Plus, indoors and outdoors

Finnmark warrants the Spectrum Plus elements for the life of the sauna in both indoor and outdoor home use, with ten years on the Carbon heaters and ten years on an indoor cabin. Business use is set per quote, and we get it confirmed in writing before you commit.

The heaters are the part that decides how long an infrared sauna lasts.

03

An EMF reading, not an adjective

A dated third party magnetic field survey

Finnmark holds a lab log with actual readings in it, which is why the next section prints the whole table, highest reading included.

A number can be checked, compared and argued with.


The Finnmark EMF Readings, and What They Actually Measure

A third party lab in Tempe, Arizona ran a magnetic field survey on the Spectrum+ infrared heaters. The log opened on 5 December 2019, under project PR108242. Each heater was measured at three positions, and the lab describes every result as magnitudes lower than the ICNIRP Occupational 2010 test limit. Here is the whole table, highest reading included.

Condition Reading
Heater off, ambient room, position 1 0.5304 mG at 59.81 Hz
Heater on, position 1, 100 Hz bandwidth 0.7328 mG at 60.06 Hz
Heater on, position 1, 200 Hz bandwidth 0.7875 mG at 60.06 Hz
Heater on, position 2, 100 Hz bandwidth 0.6998 mG at 59.81 Hz
Heater on, position 2, 200 Hz bandwidth 0.6881 mG at 60.06 Hz
Heater on, position 3, 100 Hz bandwidth About 1 mG at about 60 Hz
Heater on, position 3, 200 Hz bandwidth 1.1708 mG, the highest reading taken
Heater on, any position, 3800 Hz bandwidth Below 0.1 mG

Running the heater added between 0.2 and 0.64 mG over what the room was already producing by itself, depending on where the probe sat. The ambient figure is the useful half of that comparison, because 0.53 mG is the floor you cannot get below in a house with wiring in the walls.

Three honest limits on those numbers. The survey tested the Spectrum+ heaters, not each finished cabin. It was run in 2019. And the limit it was measured against is the ICNIRP occupational one, which is the workplace limit, not the general public limit. It is a real measurement with a date and a project number on it, and it is not a per model certificate.

Trinity: What a Traditional Stove Adds, and What It Asks of You

FD-4 and FD-5 are the ones that do both. Alongside the infrared panels sits a Harvia electric stove with a stone tray. The same room then runs either as a dry infrared cabin or as a traditional sauna where you ladle water over hot stones. Finnmark names the exact stove on each spec sheet.

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Model Harvia stove Stove circuit Infrared circuit
FD-4 Trinity Vega Compact, 1.9 kW 120V, 20 amps 120V, 15 amps
FD-5 Trinity XL KIP45B, 4.5 kW 240V, 20 amps 240V, 15 amps

Choose on the stove, not the footprint. The FD-4's 1.9 kW Vega Compact warms a two person cabin on two 120V circuits, so an older panel can usually take it. The FD-5's 4.5 kW KIP45B gives a traditional sauna the heat it actually wants, and asks for two 240V circuits. We stock both stoves, so a replacement element or a second stone load is a part we already carry.

The FD-4 is not a plug it in anywhere sauna. Both of its circuits are 120V, which reads like an ordinary outlet, and the stove side needs a 20 amp line of its own. Have an electrician confirm your panel before you order either Trinity. Finnmark covers the stove under Harvia's own warranty, not the sauna warranty.

The Outdoor Barrels, and the Stove That Is Not in the Box

FD-6 and FD-7 are the same barrel in different timber. Western Red Cedar inside and out on the FD-6, thermally treated aspen throughout on the FD-7. Both measure 72.5 inches across the face, 75 long and 79 high, with two tier benching and the same infrared side at 120V and 15 amps. The FD-6 sits on shou sugi ban torched supports; the FD-7 uses plain engineered ones.

The choice between them is timber and budget. Cedar is the warmer red brown you picture when you picture a barrel sauna, and it carries the aroma. Thermally treated aspen is paler, dimensionally very stable, and the less expensive of the pair. Both are arriving later this year, the FD-6 in November and the FD-7 in December, and we will give you the current date when you call.

The traditional stove is not included. Finnmark supplies the barrel and the infrared side. The stove is yours to choose, up to 6 kW, and the package contents list no stove, no stones and no stove control. Call before you order and we will size one against the cabin and the circuit you have, so the two arrive together.

Finnmark answers that question in its own artwork: the FD-6 heater layout labels the stove "Harvia Traditional Steam". The two that fit under 6 kW are the KIP45B at 4.5 kW and the KIP60B at 6 kW. If you would rather we worked it out with you, size a heater for the barrel and we will keep it at or under 6 kW on the supply the barrel gives you.


SoulCold: Contrast Sessions, and Where the Tub Can Live

The SoulCold is a one person tub of about 180 gallons in stainless steel and cedar, and it runs both ways. Chilled for a cold session, warmed for a soak. The chiller is in the box rather than sold on top, along with the cover, the filter assembly, filters, two wrenches, hose lines and an LED remote.

It weighs 460 pounds empty and about 1,650 pounds full, so the floor it sits on matters more than the footprint does. The supplied cord carries its own ground fault protection.

This one is not an all weather outdoor plunge, and that is worth knowing first. The manual asks for a tent or shading device outdoors. It says the cord and plug are meant for indoor use or light rain. It tells you to move the chiller inside, or into an insulated space, before a freeze. The warranty is void on freeze damage. A garage, basement or covered patio suits it. An exposed deck in a cold winter does not.

The paper filter is a consumable: Finnmark asks for a change about every 30 days. We carry the carbon and pleated four packs so you are not hunting for them in month two.


What a Finnmark Sauna Asks of Your Electrician

Most of the range runs at 120V, the FD-3 and FD-5 need 240V, and every one of them wants a circuit of its own, not a shared outlet. Below are the volts, amps and plug type the manufacturer documents support. Where the spec sheet and the dealer file disagree on a wattage, we have left the wattage out instead of publishing a number your electrician would have to second guess.

Model What the panel needs
FD-1 and FD-2 One dedicated 120V 15 amp circuit, NEMA 5-15P
FD-3 One dedicated 240V 15 amp circuit, NEMA 6-15P
FD-4 Trinity Two circuits: 120V 15 amp infrared, and 120V 20 amp for the stove
FD-5 Trinity XL Two circuits: 240V 15 amp infrared, and 240V 20 amp for the stove
FD-6 and FD-7 120V 15 amp infrared, plus whatever the stove you choose requires
SoulCold Supplied cord and plug with ground fault protection built in

Read these as the starting point for a conversation with a licensed electrician, not a substitute for one. Panel capacity, run length and local code all change the answer, and a sauna is a continuous load, which matters more on an older panel than a short one does.


Warranty, Delivery and Returns on Finnmark

Read off the Finnmark warranty sheet, which the brand last updated in December 2022. Home use.

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Component Indoor home Outdoor home
Spectrum Plus heaters Lifetime Lifetime
Spectrum Carbon heaters 10 years 10 years
Sauna cabin, all wood 10 years 5 years
Controls and power supply 10 years 5 years
LED lighting 10 years 10 years
Remotes, and the optional cushion 1 year 1 year
Optional outdoor cover Roof 5 years, walls 10 years Roof 5 years, walls 10 years
Anything not fitted at the factory No coverage No coverage

The SoulCold is covered separately and more briefly: one year from purchase, for consumer use, covering the pumps, heater, control system, plumbing and the factory fitted filter and pump. On the Trinity models the Harvia stove sits outside this table and carries Harvia's own warranty.

Every sauna here moves by freight with no delivery charge to the lower 48, and arrives as a kit of panels or staves, not assembled. Delivery is curbside, so have two able people and somewhere flat and dry to stage the crate. Inspect it before you sign and note any damage on the delivery paperwork, because that note is what a freight claim rests on. Finnmark asks that the barrels be put up professionally and wired by a licensed electrician, and the indoor cabins are a two person job with power tools. We offer professional setup and assembly if you would rather not do it yourself. Canada and the non contiguous states are quoted separately, and our return policy sets out the window and the conditions.

Finnmark notes on its own sheet that the stated terms can be changed on a quote or invoice. So for a business order we confirm the term in writing rather than reading it off a table.


Finnmark FD-3 full spectrum infrared sauna beside a freestanding tub in a modern spa bathroom

Spread the cost at checkout

Shop Pay Installments appears at checkout on every product here, so an order can be split into payments without a separate application. The terms you are offered depend on the order and on Shop Pay, and are shown before you confirm, and the link in the panel above walks through how it works.


Finnmark Designs Saunas, Questions Answered

Who makes Finnmark Designs saunas, and what is the range built around?

Finnmark Designs is a US sauna brand whose range is built around its own infrared heating technology. The indoor cabins pair Spectrum Plus elements with Carbon 360 flat panels, which is why the spec sheets list two emitter types. Interiors are Canadian cedar on every model except the FD-7 barrel, which is thermally treated aspen throughout. Recovery Room Direct is a factory authorized dealer for the brand, so every sauna ships with the manufacturer warranty intact.

What is the difference between Spectrum Plus and Spectrum Carbon heaters?

They are two different emitter types that Finnmark fits in the same cabin. The Carbon 360 units are flat panels that cover a wide area at a lower surface temperature. The Spectrum Plus elements are the ones carrying the UL component recognition, and they are also the ones Finnmark warrants for the life of the sauna. On FD-1, FD-2 and FD-3 the spec sheet lists both together. On the outdoor barrels only Spectrum Plus is named.

Are Finnmark saunas UL listed?

Finnmark identifies the Spectrum Plus elements as the UL component recognised heaters, under file E65554, Sheathed Heating Elements, Component. That record covers elements, not a finished sauna. Separately, Intertek lists FD-1, FD-2, FD-3 and FD-4 as ETL Listed to UL-875, with a Canadian certificate to CSA C22.2 No. 164. The certificates we hold do not name FD-5, FD-6 or FD-7, so we do not describe those three as listed. If a certificate naming them reaches us, we will say so here.

How much EMF does a Finnmark sauna produce?

A third party lab measured the Spectrum+ heaters at three positions in December 2019. Ambient, with everything off, was 0.5304 mG. Running, the readings ran from 0.6881 mG up to a maximum of 1.1708 mG at position three. So the heater added between 0.2 and 0.64 mG over the room itself. The lab calls every result magnitudes lower than the ICNIRP occupational limit. Two caveats: that is the workplace limit, and the survey tested heaters rather than assembled cabins.

Do the outdoor barrel saunas come with a traditional stove?

No, and it is the single most missed detail on this pair. FD-6 and FD-7 ship as a barrel with the infrared side fitted, and the traditional stove is chosen separately, up to 6 kW. The package contents list no stove, no stones and no stove control. Call us before ordering a barrel and we will size a stove against the cabin volume and the circuit you have, so the two arrive together rather than weeks apart.

Can a SoulCold plunge live outside all year?

Only in a sheltered spot, and not through a hard freeze. The manual asks for a tent or shade outdoors. It says the cord and plug are meant for indoor use or light rain. It also tells you to move the chiller indoors when it turns freezing. Freeze damage is excluded from the warranty. A garage, a basement or a covered patio works well. An open deck through a cold winter is the wrong home for it.

What warranty comes with a Finnmark sauna?

In home use the Spectrum Plus elements are warranted for the life of the sauna. The Carbon heaters and the LED lighting run ten years. An indoor cabin and its controls run ten years, dropping to five when the sauna lives outdoors. Remotes and the optional cushion are one year, and anything not fitted at the factory is not covered. The SoulCold sits on its own one year consumer term, and the Harvia stove in a Trinity carries Harvia warranty. Business terms are set per quote and we confirm them in writing.

How does a Finnmark sauna arrive, and what will I need on the day?

By freight, with no delivery charge to the lower 48, and as a kit, not an assembled room. The driver brings it to the curb, so plan two able people and somewhere flat and dry to stage the crate. Inspect before you sign and note any damage on the paperwork. The indoor cabins are a two person assembly with power tools, and Finnmark asks that the barrels be put up professionally and wired by a licensed electrician. Canada and the non contiguous states are quoted case by case.

How do I know I am buying from an authorized Finnmark dealer?

Recovery Room Direct is a factory authorized Finnmark Designs dealer, so your sauna carries the full factory warranty, not a reseller term. It also means the specification here comes from the manufacturer documents, which is why this page tells you which models the ETL certificates name and which they do not. Finnmark enforces one price everywhere, so if you see an authorized dealer selling for less our price match covers it. To check anything first, call (888) 500-5675.



Not Sure Which Finnmark Sauna Fits Your Room?

Tell us the room, the panel you have and who will use it. We will narrow this page to the models that fit, flag the ones that need a second circuit, and size a stove for a barrel before you order rather than after.